Go Back   Gametramp > Public Genital > Ask/Tell

Old 01-May-2010, 06:57

Ama Ask me about Becoming or Being a Teacher

If you're interested, I'm a teacher.

I have a degree in Political Science and a Degree in History. I'm also a licensed teacher and am getting my Master's in Education. I'll then be getting my Doctorate, probably in Foreign Affairs.

I've taught middle school at an inner-city school that was 90% free lunch and 65% Second Language (English was not the language spoken in the home). It was in gang territory, and despite that the kids were young they were part of that community. I taught Humanities there.

I also taught high school at an inner-city school, also in gang territory and with about the same, if not more diverse, demography. "Diverse" is a code word for "poor, non-English speaking" in education. I didn't wear red to school here, because it could have been potentially dangerous, but even if it wasn't it may have harmed my relationship with some of my students. I taught Economics in this environment.

I currently teach high school at a "zip code" (that means filthy rich), almost all white school. I teach Freshmen US History Honors primarily, though I do have one class that's a mix of Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors. The mixed class is a World Religions class. This is one of the ten wealthiest school districts in the nation and the students here are very different than they were at my last two environments.

It has been and will continue to be an incredible learning experience. If you have questions about how to become a teacher or what it's like to be a teacher, ask away.
Old 03-May-2010, 16:42

No more riffraff tomfoolery, eh?
Old 04-May-2010, 18:32

Do you constantly develop new lesson plans, or are you lazy and reuse them?
Old 04-May-2010, 20:23

Do you plan on becoming a college professor Ala? By the progression of your career, it seems like that is going to be the case.